Thursday, 14 January 2016

LOOKING GLASS GIRL: IF YOU LIKED THIS BOOK... YOU MIGHT LIKE THIS TOO!

Reader Katie reviews LOOKING GLASS GIRL... and suggests a book by a different author you might like if you've already read and enjoyed this one!


Katie says:
Alice feels she is in Wonderland, with a summer drama school to attend with her good friend Luke, a performance as Alice from Alice in Wonderland in the school play under her belt, and the rest of the summer ahead to catch up with her best friends. But Alice's BFFs, Elaine and Yasmina, are jealous and have other ideas. When the girls start secondary school, cool girl Savannah messes things up even more by making friends with Elaine and Yaz. Alice can see her friendship turning sour, and she may very well end up losing her mind...

LOOKING GLASS GIRL's plot thickens with each page, leaving you unable to put it down. It's like you ARE Alice, spiralling down the rabbit hole into Wonderland. The book makes you feel so many things - fear, surprise, longing - and, when Alice's Wonderland really is wonderful again, the book leaves you feeling happy and satisfied. Wonderland is not an easy concept to understand; nor are bullying or comas, but when they are mixed together in this excitingly modern take on the fantasy classic, you end up learning a lot about the human mind.

Not only does LOOKING GLASS GIRL teach you these things, it takes you on an invigorating adventure where ALICE IN WONDERLAND meets modern day friendship, horror and drama. It has everything I like in a book, but if you've read and loved it too, here's another book that may hook your interest. BAD ALICE by Jean Ure uses a fresh twist on ALICE IN WONDERLAND also. The author adds in some dark themes, with a boy who suffers from Tourette's syndrome and 'Bad Alice' herself, who has behavioural issues. In BAD ALICE, Alice and Duffy seek to understand each other in a touching story where all is not as it seems. (Note, the book is aimed at older readers... some difficult themes.)

Cathy Cassidy's LOOKING GLASS GIRL is a standout novel, using the themes and imagery from ALICE IN WONDERLAND in a stunning new way. Once you've read it, check out Jean Ure's BAD ALICE too!

Cathy says:
I am definitely going to check out that book - thanks for the top tip, Katie! Is there a particular book YOU think readers of LOOKING GLASS GIRL might enjoy? COMMENT BELOW to have your say!

5 comments:

  1. It should be 'but' not "nut" at the end of the last paragraph. Bad Alice sounds like a good read!

    ReplyDelete
  2. Sounds cool to me!

    ReplyDelete
  3. I have read Looking Glass Girl and have heard of Bad Alice by Jean Ure. I love the connection with Alice In Wonderland in Looking Glass Girl and I can't wait to try out Bad Alice!

    ReplyDelete
  4. Hi I've read the entire chocolate box girl's series except Marshmallow Skye and Summer's Dream. I definitely think its an amazing series and I can relate to all of them!!! It's an amazing series thanks for writing it!!!

    From Chifundo

    ReplyDelete